loader image

Top 6 foods you can eat on a gluten free diet

Following a gluten free diet requires that you don’t eat gluten at all, so that it won’t affect your diet especially if you are sensitive to gluten. This kind of diet has many benefits for your health and body. 

Read on to know about what exactly is a gluten free diet, the kind of food to eat when following this diet, and the kind of desserts that you can eat when craving something sweet and delicious.

What is a gluten free diet?

A gluten free diet is an eating plan that contains food that is gluten free. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley and triticale that can cause issues for those who have celiac disease and other medical conditions associated with gluten. 

This special type of diet has many other benefits that can also benefit those who don’t have celiac disease or other medical conditions. Benefits include improved health, weight loss, and a boost in energy.

Top 6 foods to eat on a gluten free diet

1.) Whole grains

Whole grains are an important part of a diet that is free from gluten. Whole grains are a good source of healthy carbohydrates that can keep you energized throughout the day. 

Most whole grains are high in fiber which is very beneficial for your body; fiber keeps you full for a long period of time minimizing the chances of feeling hungry as well as aids with digestion. 

There are a wide variety of gluten free foods that you can choose from when following a gluten free diet such as:

  • quinoa
  • brown rice
  • wild rice
  • buckwheat
  • sorghum
  • tapioca
  • millet 

A very important tip when buying whole grain foods is that you will need to check food labels because there are many whole grain products that contain gluten.

2.) Fruits and vegetables

All fresh fruits and vegetables are gluten free. Fruits and vegetables have a variety of vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants that can build your body’s health and help you stay fit.

Here are a list of suitable fruits and vegetables to follow in a gluten free diet:

  • citrus fruits, including oranges and grapefruit
  • bananas
  • apples
  • berries
  • peaches
  • Pears

Even though all fruits and vegetables don’t contain gluten, you will need to take extra care when buying processed fruits and vegetables especially if they are flavored because they may contain gluten. 

Therefore, it is best to check out labels before buying to know whether they contain gluten or not.

A great tip when buying processed fruits and vegetables is to look at those that are plain, frozen, canned in just water or juice, or unsweetened and dried.

3.) Proteins

Most fresh and plain protein without any flavors are suitable for a gluten free diet. These types of protein can be either animal based or plant based which are considered gluten free.

Here is the list of protein that fit in the gluten free criteria:

  • Red meat: Fresh beef, lamb, goat, bison, duck
  • Poultry: Fresh chicken and turkey
  • Seafood: Fresh fish, scallops, lobster, clams
  • Tofu: Tofu is made from soy which is gluten free; however, other ingredients added may contain gluten, so it’s important to check out all the ingredients before buying tofu. 
  • Beans
  • Nuts and seed

4.) Dairy products

Most dairy products are suitable when being on a gluten free diet, mainly those that are plain, unflavored, and don’t contain any additives.

Dairy products that are gluten free are:

  • Milk
  • Butter and ghee
  • Cheese
  • Cream
  • Cottage cheese
  • Sour cream
  • Yogurt

However, dairy products may contain gluten depending on the ingredients that are added to them such as thickeners, malt, and modified food starch makes them gluten dairy products.

5.) Fats and oils

Almost all fats and oils are naturally gluten free because they are made from nuts and seed which don’t contain gluten. 

Examples of gluten free oils and fats are:

  • Butter and ghee
  • Olives and olive oil
  • Avocados and avocado oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Vegetable and seed oils, including sesame oil, canola oil, and sunflower oil

However, when additives are added may contain gluten where they are used to make oils thicker and flavorful. Other fats and oils may be processed or packaged which in order to happen needs gluten to be added to preserve them.

6.) Gluten free desserts and sweets

If you are sensitive to gluten, you will need to search for desserts and sweets that are suitable when following a gluten free diet.

Even though many sweets and desserts do contain gluten, you will need to look for those companies or businesses that are making gluten free desserts that will definitely help you maintain your gluten free diet like Guilt Free store.

Related articles: Top 7 gluten free desserts that are delicious

Guilt Free Store

Guilt Free is an online store that specializes in making gluten free, keto, and vegan desserts. We provide a variety of desserts because we know the struggle of many to maintain their gluten free diet as well as not affect their health badly due to sensitivity to gluten.

Guilt Free follows top quality standards when making these desserts suiting many different preferences along the way. Through nutrition experts offering standards for making these desserts, our desserts won’t sabotage your diet, taste deliciously good, and keep you energized throughout the day.

Here are the top 3 desserts that can benefit you when following a gluten free diet:

1.) Carrot cake

The delicious carrot cake is suitable for anyone who is following a gluten free diet.  The carrot cake is made from ingredients such as carrots, almonds, and walnuts which add a special delicious taste to the carrot cake.

It is made from 100% natural ingredients that won’t harm you if you are allergic to gluten or follow a diet free from gluten. 

Gluten free diet

Carrot cake

2.) Mini healthy brownies

The mini healthy brownies is a top gluten free dessert that will definitely help you reach your dieting goals when craving to eat a dessert that will give you energy, satisfy your craving, and is gluten free.

The quantity of the mini healthy brownies is 4 pieces per order where you can enjoy eating it with your friends or family in a gathering. 

These special brownies don’t contain sugar, instead they are made from stevia, a natural sweetener that doesn’t harm your body and helps you to not gain weight.

Gluten free diet

Mini healthy brownies

3.) Plain peanut butter 

The plain peanut butter is a very healthy alternative to the highly calorie packed regular peanut butter. It only contains 91 calories per tablespoon which makes it a really low calorie alternative that doesn’t compromise on taste and nutrients.

It is suitable for those who want a gluten free dessert; you can eat it in the morning as part of your breakfast or even throughout the day as a snack.

Gluten free diet

Plain peanut butter

In the end, when you follow a gluten free diet, you will need to understand what type of foods that are suitable and don’t contain any gluten so that you can enjoy eating them without any harmful effects specifically for those who are allergic to gluten or other medical conditions.






Leave a comment